Reviews
The Wedge Pillows in 2022, Ranked: The definitive in-depth review of top-rated pillows
Jake Manning
03.08.22

Final Winner: 1 out of 8 (See Below for In Depth Review and Process)



9.5/10
15 votes



A+
Overall Grade

Support & Comfort
`
10/10

Slipping
`
9/10

Additional features
`
10/10

Value
`
10/10

Return policy / warranty
`
9/10

PROS
Cooling gel layer and cover actually regulates temperature
Premium CertiPUR-US Certified Memory Foam
Perfect balance of comfort and support
3-Year Extended Warranty
60 Night Sleep Trial

CONS
X
Only available online

In Depth Review And Process

Our goal with this article is to help you take the guesswork out of finding the perfect wedge pillow by putting popular styles to the test – in this study, we looked at over 40 of the most popular pillows on the market available, and evaluated them to find the best.

I have tried wedge pillows before, but I could never find the exact best pillow for me – some were too flat or too thick, too firm or too soft, too hot, or too rough. I took it upon myself to find the best wedge pillow available on the market.

I started by going through a bunch of lists of the best pillows – I scoured Amazon and direct to consumer sites to come up with a list of 8 of the best pillows on the market for all sleepers. We ranked the pillows according to the following characteristics:

  • Support & comfort
  • Slipping
  • Additional features
  • Value
  • Return policy / warranty

Overall, the best wedge pillow I slept on by far was the Dosaze Therapeutic Cooling Wedge Pillow. We enjoyed sleeping on the Dosaze Therapeutic Cooling Wedge Pillow in all three sleep positions thanks to the premium materials, temperature regulation, and overall comfort level. But more on why I like this pillow so much later.

Is It Worth It To Consider Pillows Under $50?

I personally do not think it is best to consider the options under $50. You will likely save money in the long run because the manufacturers of cheaper pillows tend to cut corners – these pillows also generally do not last as long. If you get the right pillow (even if it is more expensive), you’ll likely save money in the long run. This is especially true since you will be using this wedge pillow almost every night if you are using it to relieve acid reflux or GERD. Even if you are using it temporarily, you want a pillow that will support you adequately. With the right one, you’ll even be able to use it to lounge, watch TV, or read.

As an example, some memory foam pillows (especially those that are not CertiPUR certified) tend to use lower quality foam, which results in worse pillows. Other pillows try to use air to support you – these are neither supportive or comfortable, and come with the added hassle of trying to blow them up. A lot of cheaper pillows also skimp out on the filling, which causes the pillows to provide less support and feel flat.

It is worth it to invest in a higher quality pillow – especially when you consider how much impact a better pillow can have on your sleep quality. The right pillow can help your sleep as much, if not more, than a new mattress (which is way more expensive).



9.5/10
15 votes



A+
Overall Grade

Support & Comfort
`
10/10

Slipping
`
9/10

Additional features
`
10/10

Value
`
10/10

Return policy / warranty
`
9/10

PROS
Cooling gel layer and cover actually regulates temperature
Premium CertiPUR-US Certified Memory Foam
Perfect balance of comfort and support
3-Year Extended Warranty
60 Night Sleep Trial

CONS
X
Only available online

The Bottom Line

This pillow is the top of the top, crème de la crème. If you’re purchasing a wedge pillow, it’s likely because you need it to relieve your acid reflux, GERD, or pressure on your back (from surgery or just in general).

If this is your primary use case, then you want a high quality pillow that will actually provide you the support you need. This pillow is just that and more. I obviously tested a number of wedge pillows, and found that this one was clearly the best. Not only is it made of premium materials, but the temperature regulation is so nice to have.

Memory foam tends to overheat, which is my typical issue with memory foam products. This can cause discomfort and hot sleep — fortunately, this pillow works wonders to keep you cool throughout the night (or day, if you’re just using it to lounge!). You lie on the pillow and really instantly feel a cool to the touch experience. The added gel layer then actually does work to keep the pillow noticeably cooler for longer than other pillows.

This pillow also solves for a number of other issues I have with other wedge pillows – while it is pretty difficult to prevent all slipping on wedge pillows, I did notice that I slipped down this one less than I did with other wedge pillows. A lot of other wedge pillows tend to be too firm, and this one was the perfect level of firmness!

It provides the perfect combination of comfort and support – the foam isn’t too firm nor is it too soft. I would describe it as firm enough to support my full body so I don’t sink too much into the pillow, but also soft enough so that it is comfortable to sleep on all night.

This pillow distinguishes itself from other pillows for neck pain in four ways (1) the quality of the materials (2) the temperature regulation (3) the customer experience.

  1. quality materials the foam in this pillow is CertiPUR-US certified (unlike many other pillows, including Sutera). The cover is also made of bamboo, unlike other pillows which tend to use 100% polyester or other scratchy materials. This memory foam has the perfect ILD (indentation load deflection). The foam is not too firm nor is it too soft.
  2. temperature regulation – the cooling cover and gel layer work wonders to keep you cool all night long on this pillow. Unlike most memory foam, which tends to overheat, this pillow regulates your temperature. I can’t stress enough now nice of a feature this is — it even makes this pillow super fun to use while watching TV or reading.
  3. customer experience – I had the best experience purchasing this pillow. The Dosaze team was incredibly responsive when my pillow got lost in the mail, and sent me one free of charge. They also offer a 60 day sleep trial and 3-year-warranty.

This pillow is seriously a case of you get what you pay for – with high quality materials, innovative features, and incredible customer service and experience, this pillow is the best option if you want a quality wedge pillow that relieves acid reflux, GERD, and reduces pressure on your back.

You can see that this pillow is great height — it’s enough to elevate you the recommended amount to combat GERD and Acid Reflux while not being too high to be uncomfortable. I love how you can also add an additional pillow on top if you want to (but you don’t have to).

UPDATE (3 months later!): I’ve been sleeping on this pillow for 3 months now, and it is still the best one. I’m super satisfied with the overall quality and durability of this pillow. This has been the best investment for me in terms of improving my overall sleep quality and alleviating my acid reflux!




8.0/10
5 votes



B
Overall Grade

Support & Comfort
`
9/10

Slipping
`
7/10

Additional features
`
7/10

Return policy / warranty
`
9/10

Value
`
8/10

PROS
Gel memory foam
Brand name
Return policy and warranty

CONS
X
Sleeps hot
X
Some slipping because of steeper angle
X
A bit large
X
Long shipping times

The Bottom Line

Looking for a firm pillow to kick back and watch television with? The Helix wedge pillow is great for supporting lower back pressure as well as alleviating neck strain. It comes with a 1-year warranty in case you are disappointed by any of its features.

In addition, it includes free delivery and a 100-night sleep trial if you decide it’s not for you. We really like the return policy and warranty.

Pros:

  • Quality, supportive and comfortable foam

Cons:

  • Rayon + Polyester cover sleeps hot (not cool)
  • More slipping due to the height




7.0/10
4 votes

C
Overall Grade

Support & Comfort
`
6/10

Slipping
`
6/10

Additional features
`
7/10

Return policy / warranty
`
8/10

Value
`
8/10

PROS
,Long warranty

CONS
X
Cover sleeps hot (polyester)
X

The Bottom Line

The Malouf wedge pillow offers long-lasting memory foam that will handle the wear and tear for years to come. It comes equipped with a machine-washable cover that can be removed for an easy wash.

Enjoy the free delivery service if you live in the contiguous U.S as well as the amazing 5-year warranty! Just be careful to consider its firmness, since many people have complained that it feels too strong for its own good.

The other thing you might have to worry about is that some customers claim that it doesn’t fully “decompress” — see the review below

Thankfully, I did not have this issue, but this review is relatively recent, so it could be luck of the draw. Part of me thinks they had to discount the pillow on Amazon because of these reviews — the same pillow is listed as $100 on their website here:

Pros:

  • machine washable cover
  • free delivery
  • 5-year warranty for U.S. residents

Cons:

  • Too firm at times
  • Material is not hypoallergenic
  • Cover material gets hot quickly




6.8/10
4 votes

D
Overall Grade

Support & Comfort
`
6/10

Slipping
`
8/10

Additional features
`
8/10

Return policy / warranty
`
6/10

Value
`
6/10

PROS
Kapok + Memory foam fill
Adjustable
Copper cover

CONS
X
No specific neck pain reduction features
X
Cover doesn’t feel “smooth”
X
Kapok fill takes getting used to

The Bottom Line

This pillow is incredibly high priced, and is supposed to relieve shoulder pressure (as well as GERD and Acid reflux) for side sleepers, so I thought I’d give it a try.

The short answer is that

Pros:

  • Works for some people with chronic shoulder pain

Cons:

  • Incredibly expensive
  • Many reviewers complain that it is too hard
  • Can actually cause shoulder and lower back pain for some
  • You cannot return it because it is nearly impossible to fit back in the box. Some people report that the company didn’t let them return.

This pillow can be hit or miss — it definitely works for some people, but for a lot of people it doesn’t work. If there were a better return policy, I’d say it might be worth the risk, but given that a lot of customers report trouble returning it (and its high price tag), I’d stay away and try a normal wedge pillow first.




6.2/10
5 votes



D
Overall Grade

Support & Comfort
`
8/10

Slipping
`
6/10

Additional features
`
5/10

Return policy / warranty
`
7/10

Value
`
5/10

PROS
Quality materials
Good support (relatively firm)

CONS
X
Pricey but doesn’t have additional features
X
Too wide and takes up too much of the bed
X
Cooling cover isn’t that cool
X
Short return window

The Bottom Line

Those wanting a firm, cool wedge pillow can find a home with the Medslant “Cool” Acid Reflux Wedge Pillow. It’s engineered with a 1.8 PCF memory foam with a longer than average lifespan. It also features a cooling cover (that is separate from the pillow itself).

On the downside, this pillow may feel sturdier than others and so it can be a bit uncomfortable for those wanting a softer touch. It is also huge and takes up most of the bed – I don’t think you need a pillow this size to get most of the benefits.

Pros:

  • Provides good support

Cons:

  • Some can find it too firm despite the thickness
  • 30 day trial is shorter than most
  • Price

This is a good pillow but a lot of people tended to slide down it — this is especially common with pillows that are higher lofted. It also relatively wide, so it can take up a large part of the bed, which is something to look out for.




6.6/10
4 votes

C
Overall Grade

Support & Comfort
`
5/10

Slipping
`
7/10

Additional features
`
5/10

Return policy / warranty
`
8/10

Value
`
8/10

PROS
Kind of Adjustable
Not messy
Decent value

CONS
X
Cover is nothing special
X
Only two levels of adjustability
X
Great return policy and warranty

The Bottom Line

Now to a less supportive alternative. We present the Wey & Fly Air wedge pillow, which is an inflatable pillow that offers a bit less support than the aforementioned pillow options. Don’t let that stop you from enjoying some of its finest features such as having adjustable firmness, vinyl cover for easy washing, 90-day warranty, and even the price is reasonable! A common complaint by consumers is that it can feel a bit softer and less supportive than other wedge pillows, but overall it gets the job done.

Pros:

  • Vinyl cover
  • 90-day warranty

Cons:

  • Doesn’t provide much support
  • Can feel softer than other wedge pillows
  • No pump included!



7/10
3 votes

C
Overall Grade

Support & comfort
`
7/10

Slipping
`
5/10

Additional features
`
8/10

Return policy / warranty
`
6/10

Value
`
6/10

PROS
Elevates torso and feet
Headrest is nice

CONS
X
Easy to “fall” off
X
Only works for back sleepers
X
Expensive
X
20% restocking fee to return
X
Not one size fits all

The Bottom Line

This foam pillow has a very specific use case — if you are a medium sized predominantly back sleeper (and don’t roll), it could work for you. However, if you are petite, if you sleep on your side (or are a combination sleeper), or you do not like a firmer bed, this pillow is not for you.

I wanted to like this one, but I just couldn’t. I didn’t really fit that well into it, and I tend to sleep on both my side and back, so it wasn’t helpful. Even as a back sleeper, it’s so narrow that if you move around at all, you’re likely to fall off.

Add to that the fact that this pillow is also expensive and hard to return (with a 20% restocking fee), and I think you likely have better ones to test out.

Pros:

  • Eases muscle pain and tension
  • Great incline and full body support

Cons:

  • Pricey
  • Too firm
  • Hard to stay on it the entire night
  • Not one size fits all




6.2/10
2 votes

D
Overall Grade

Support & comfort
`
7/10

Slipping
`
7/10

Additional features
`
6/10

Return policy / warranty
`
5/10

Value
`
6/10

PROS
Provides some neck pain relief
Medium price
Good for back sleepers

CONS
X
Lower quality memory foam
X
Poor warranty and return policy
X
Uncomfortable cover

The Bottom Line

The DMI bed wedge is a highly rated wedge pillow from Amazon, so I wanted to test it, even if some of the reviews are pretty negative. These Amazon brands can really be hit or miss, but I thought I’d give it a chance.

Don’t waste your time with this one – a lot of the reviews do say that this pillow is lower quality (and firm, like a brick), and they were not kidding. I tested this pillow and honestly felt like I was sleeping on a rock. It elevates you, but is not comfortable at all.

I saw these negative reviews, but I figured I’d give the Amazon Choice brand a try anyways:

This is my biggest issue with really trying to cut costs on Amazon. Sure you can find some great products, but you also run the risk of getting something significantly lower quality – and in this case, this pillow definitely is.

Conclusions

For most sleepers (side, back, and combination) with neck pain, I highly recommend the Dosaze Contoured Orthopedic Pillow. The quality of the foam, the innovative shape, and the cover are all best in class. And if you don’t like it, you have 60 full days to return. That being said, you can try any of the pillows on this list and see for yourself, hopefully risk free (well except for a few!).

Disclosure: HomeHacks has relationships with some of the products listed in this article. We may earn a varying commission if you purchase any of the products on this list.

By Jake Manning
hi@sbly.com
Jake Manning is a senior writer at Shareably. He can be reached at hi@shareably.net
Advertisement
Advertisement